“The Chief & The Doctor” by Taylor Stewart

Chapter 1: A Meeting of Extraordinary Men
Thunder booms: Bang. Bang bang bang. Crunch! Bang bang bang!


Lightning strikes: Crack! Crakakakaka! Kachshhh!


There is a hellish thunderstorm in progress, & The Doctor is caught at the eye of the storm. The TARDIS is going haywire and spinning like a maniac. “Calm down!” pleads The Doctor to the TARDIS. “You’ve dealt with much worse than a silly little thunderstorm, what’s spooked you this time!?” he continues. The TARDIS erupts flames from the GPS monitors as though it is crying. “I’m sorry.” says The Doctor, respectfully. “It’s going to be alright.” he follows, calmly. He then uses his sonic screwdriver to reverse the polarity of the explosion, causing it to cease & undoing most of the damage. He is then able to regain full control of the TARDIS and avert disaster. He lands at the closest place he can find: An odd ring-shaped planet, which seemingly appeared from nowhere, as if out of a dream. “I’ve seen planets surrounded by rings before, but never a planet that was a ring!” says the doctor. “Now I’ve seen it all!” he continues. “Wait here!” The Doctor says to his TARDIS. “I won’t be long…”

Chapter 2: An Unlikely Friendship
The Doctor has been wandering for an hour or so, and he comes across a downed aircraft. He ventures close, sonic screwdriver at hand in case there’s trouble, and he approaches with caution. There is a rustling from within the ship. “Hello?” he yells. “Anybody in here?” he continues. The rustling stops dead as soon as he speaks. There is an eerie silence. The silence scares The Doctor, but he stays brave. “Hellooo..?” he continues. There is a huge clanging noise and it gets louder. Suddenly a green figure bursts from the downed aircraft and towards The Doctor. It’s the Master Chief. Chief holds up his dual wielded SMG’s to The Doctor’s head. “Who are you and what do you want?” demands the Chief.


“I’m The Doctor. The Eleventh Doctor to be precise. I’m an ancient Time Lord from the planet Gallifrey, and I’ve just arrived on this planet in my TARDIS, which is parked roughly an hour’s walk from here.” says The Doctor. “Doctor eh?” asks The Chief. “Doctor Who?” he continues. “That’s a bit of a loaded question, mate.” says The Doctor. “While we’re playing 20 questions though, who are you?” asks The Doctor. “I am Spartan 117. I am the Master Chief. You can call me by my full name of John or you can call me The Chief.” says The Chief. “A man of many titles, I like it!” says The Doctor. “Thanks.” says The Chief. “Where are you from, Chief?” asks The Doctor. “This is my home planet. It’s called Halo. It’s one of 5 ring-shaped planets in this part of the solar system. The planets are home to all sorts of wonderful creations and creatures, old & new. The planets names are Glimmer, Timepiece, The Federation, Racer & of course, Halo, where we are now. “That’s beautiful” says The Doctor. “Thanks” says The Chief, “I’m free all day, if you have time I could give you a tour of Halo. What do you say?” asks The Chief. “Oh, I’ve got time.” says The Doctor. “I’ve got all the time in the world!” he laughs. The Master Chief laughs too and pats The Doctor in the back. “Nice!” says The Chief. “Looks like we’re forming an unlikely friendship.” he continues.


Chapter 3: A Walk In The Woods
The Chief & The Doctor walk through the woods. They have been walking for a little while, getting to know each other on the walk. “Tell me about your past” says The Doctor. “Where do I begin?” says The Chief. “I was born in 2511 on the human colony world of Eridanus II. At this time, myself and other selected children were covertly taken from their homes and conscripted by the Factions of Halo United Nations Space Command (UNSC) into the SPARTAN-II Project. The military and the SPARTAN-II Project’s lead, Doctor Catherine Halsey, believed humanity would fall into interstellar civil war without the creation of supersoldiers—the Spartans. I proved a natural leader and led my fellow trainees over eight years of grueling training and dangerous physical augmentation. Though me and the Spartans would battle human insurgents, a new threat emerged: the Covenant, a collective of alien races determined to exterminate humanity. Though the Spartans prove a tremendous weapon against the Covenant, they were too few to turn the tide in the UNSC’s favor.” says The Chief. “What about you?” he asks. “Well, here’s my deal: I am not from Earth, I am a Time Lord from the planet Gallifrey. The Time Lords were considered to be one of the oldest and most powerful races in the universe. Sometime in the future the Time Lords went to war against the Daleks and lost, I am the only known survivor. Over time I learnt to trust other people. I also saw humans ability to block out certain things they refused to believe in.” says The Doctor. “Looks like we’re getting to know each other pretty well, really quickly too.” says The Master Chief. “I thought so too,” said The Doctor. “Until I noticed that AI chip in the back of your neck…” says The Doctor, suspiciously.


The Doctor points his screwdriver at the back of The Chief’s helmet. “Ok… ok…” says the chief. “Let me explain.” he continues. The Chief raises his hands to show he means no harm. “This… this is cortana” says The Chief. “Cortana is my ex wife, who I’m still friends with. She is an AI unit created by my boss Catherine. We fell in love on the first day on the job. We divorced about 10 years ago, but we have remained really close friends and have really barely fought since.” he continues. “That’s cool. Glad you could remain friends.” says The Doctor. “Thanks.” says The Chief. Cortana rises to the same size as The Chief and puts her arm around him. “You big sweetheart!” she says. “I drive this guy nuts, he’s just too polite to say!” she continues. “You don’t drive me nuts.” says The Chief, sternly. “Why don’t I leave you fellas alone for a while, huh?” says Cortana to The Chief & The Doctor. “Sounds good. We can talk about dude stuff.” says The Chief. The Doctor gives Chief a high five.


Cortana walks away and The Chief pulls The Doctor out of sight. “I’m still in love with Cortana.” says The Chief. “But first things first: I have to teach you my secret handshake.” he continues. “I love a good secret handshake. It’s like a hidden friend code that only you and your friends know about. A way to bond and remember the times shared. How do we do this?” says The Doctor. “Right so first thing’s first: It’s a simple high five, followed by a quick handshake, you then seperate and do rock paper scissors (best of 3) and whoever wins makes a pistol shape with their hands and shoots the other persons feet like a cowboy. The person getting their feet shot will dance as though trying to dodge bullets. The end of the handshake is when the person with the gun finger blows on the guns nozzle!'”. says The Chief. “Sounds simple enough!” says The Doctor. “Let’s try it out!” he continues. “Ok! 3 2 1 go!” says The Chief. They do the handshake, and The Doctor wins the rock paper scissors best of 3, meaning he earns the gun. He is overjoyed and performs the rest of the handshake with a massive feeling of passion. “Well done! You hit it out of the park, dude.” says The Chief. The Doctor knew deep in his heart that The Chief let him win the rock paper scissors best of 3, and he really appreciated it. “Now,” says The Doctor. “Back to you and Cortana. You still love her?” he continues. Just as The Chief goes to speak, there an explosion overhead. Fire falls down to the ground around them, burning the trees. The Doctor clicks his fingers and The TARDIS appears around them. They are safely within The TARDIS, and The Chief is dumbstruck. “What the hell!?” he says. “Where are we!?” he continues. “Welcome to the TARDIS”, says The Doctor. “It’s my Time Machine.” he continues. “Holy shit…” says The Chief.

Chapter 4: Shit Just Hit The Fan
“Time machine?!?” yelps The Chief. “You mean this thing also travels through time!?” he continues. “I did say I was a Time Lord, didn’t I?” says The Doctor. “OH my GOD!” says the chief, excitedly. “You said you have all the time in the world, right?” he continues, as a question. “Yep. As much time as you could ever need.” says The Doctor. “Can we go on an adventure?” asks The Chief. “Of course we can,” says The Doctor. “Just name the time & place, and we will be there quicker than you can say 123.” says The Doctor. “This is going to be EPIC!” says The Chief.


“10th of August 1996. Knebworth. Front of the queue to see Oasis in their prime.” says The Chief. “A man of good taste!” says The Doctor. Don’t you think you’ll stick out like a sore thumb in that big suit though?” asks The Doctor, concerned. “I’ll take it off. You got any 90’s style clothes I could borrow?” asks The Chief. “I have just the thing…” says The Doctor.


The Doctor & The Chief arrive at Knebworth to see Oasis. They emerge from the Tardis in full mod gear. The chief is done up exactly like Liam Gallagher, he looks amazing. They could be twins. “You and Liam could be twins!” exclaims The Doctor. “Thanks.” says The Chief. “I got this as part of my deal for becoming a Spartan. They gave me surgery to look however I wanted, and I chose to model myself after the king of britpop, Sir Liam Gallagher.” he continues. “I thought you would have been all scarred and torn to bits underneath that suit. I’m surprised by how good you look, your haircut is even fresh as a daisy!” exclaims The Doctor. “Here’s my secret: My suit gives me a fresh haircut every day. It has modern barber scissors inside it and they give me a haircut the moment it senses I’ve woken up from my sleep. And my skin is kept fresh by a hydration cooler within the cheeks and forehead of the helmet.” says The Chief. “That’s amazing!” says The Doctor. “You really look great bro.” he continues. “Thanks!” says The Chief.


The Chief & The Doctor arrive at the barricade, they have the perfect spot for the gig. The concert begins, and The Chief & The Doctor rock out to all of their favourite Oasis singles, B-sides & album tracks from the first few Oasis albums. They drink a few beers and they really feel the energy of the music. The concert ends and they do the secret handshake. They then hug and smile. “My surname is Gallagher!” says The Master Chief. “What!?” says The Doctor. “My secret last name. It’s Gallagher. I keep my surname a secret from everyone, but I think you’re my best friend. I can tell you. My surname is Gallagher.” says The Chief. “Like Noel & Liam from Oasis!?! That’s amazing!” says The Doctor. “It’s not a coincidence!” says The Chief, over the loud exit music. “I’m their son!” he exclaims, proudly. “WHAT!?!” asks The Doctor, shocked. “I’m the son of Liam & Noel Gallagher. They are my father! I was taken from them as a young boy, and never met them properly. I’m so glad you brought me to see them in their prime, I’m so proud of them, I’m proud to be their son, and I’m so grateful that you brought me here to see them.” says The Chief. “My pleasure bro!” says The Doctor. Let’s go to KFC – I fancy a zinger meal!” he continues. “I love a Wicked zinger meal from KFC. I’m feeling extra hungry, so let me tell you about my KFC trick!” says The Chief to The Doctor. “Every day feels like a school day with you, Johnny boy. And I mean that in a good way!” says The Doctor. “Haha!” says The Chief. “Ok, so the trick is: order the wicked zinger meal, and for my sides I get beans and gravy. I then order a 1 piece original recipe chicken snackbox, which comes with more fries than you would normally get with a meal, plus a big piece of original recipe chicken. You get so much more for only a few quid extra! This only really works if you like beans though I suppose, but I love beans. I get a can of tango as my drink.” says The Master Chief. “I love beans!” says The Doctor. “Sounds good.” he continues, finishing the conversation.

Chapter 5: Dinner Time
The Chief & The Doctor go to KFC. They both order the Wicked Zinger meal with beans & gravy & a can of Tango orange. On the side they order a 1 piece original recipe chicken snackbox, which comes with fries. They eat the meals and have a great chat. They eat a bite of the burger first, and then a bite of the burger dippped in the gravy. Then some fries. Then they eat a wing each. They then dip some fries in to the gravy and eat it, and then they dip some of the fries in to the beans and eat those too. They then eat some of the beans on their own with a fork. They take a few fork fulls. They then take a sip of Tango orange to wash down the food. They go back to the burger, and take a few bites. They have a bite of the burger, and then a handful of fries. They eat their second wing, partially dipped in gravy. They then move on to the piece of original recipe chicken. They eat this slowly, and they almost finish it, but they leave a few bites. They then finish the burger slowly, and then eat some more fries. They dip some of the fries in to the beans. They then eat some of the beans on their own again. They have another drink of tango, and they then move back to the fries. They then finish off the piece of original recipe chicken, before finishing the fries and beans completely. They top off the meal by finishing the can of Tango orange.

Chapter 6: Goodbyes Aren’t Forever
They leave KFC. They have just had one of the best days of their lives, and they’ve just eaten an amazing meal in KFC. “Well,” says The Doctor. “This is where we part ways.” he continues. “But… but we’ve only just begun our adventure!” says The Chief. “I’m sorry, Chief, but I have to go. There is a Time War taking place. And I have to put an end to it…” says The Doctor. “But you said the great Time War was over!” says the chief, confused. “It’s over, yes… but at the same time… It’s always ongoing. A war raging throughout time and space forever. Millions of casualties and no winner, except me, if you can even call me a winner. I don’t feel like a winner though. I feel like more of a loser.” says The Doctor. “I understand” says The Chief. The TARDIS takes The Master Chief back to his home planet, and drops him off with Cortana. Cortana runs up to him and says “I still love you!”. The Doctor smiles with a tear in his eye. “I love you too!” says The Chief. He and Cortana embrace, and kiss. The TARDIS fades away, and The Chief turns, looking at where it once was parked. A tear forms in his eye, and he says “I’ll miss you, Doctor…”

THE END

One thought on ““The Chief & The Doctor” by Taylor Stewart

  1. I like how the KFC is symbolic of both the doctor AND the master chief! My question is: who is your favourite companion and do you think they would get on with cortana?

    Christian porter, age 26

    Like

Leave a comment